Skip to content

10 Things being a Mommy taught me about handling social tantrums: Lesson Three

July 7, 2011

We’re on day three of our  ten day exploration of how to deal with complaining, whining, and tantrums online. Building a brand on the social web is a lot like raising a child; and as a Mommy of two boys, I know a thing or two about dealing with tantrums. If we handle our clients with as much love, understanding, and discipline as we handle our children, I bet we’d all have a better experience “raising a brand” using social media. Come back every day this week for another tip or this “Mommy” might send you to bed without your supper!

Give a lot of attention and you’ll have fewer tantrums.

At the end of the day all our children really want is our focus. My boys want me to get on the floor and play action figures or chase them in the park.  Nearly all of their requests are time-driven: play with me, walk with me, chase me, dance with me, sit by me, color with me, can I help, etc. etc. All asking for the same thing: ATTENTION. The more of my time and attention I give them the less often they act up. A simple concept, but not easy when life is pulling me in thousands of directions.

 

None of us have ever “grown up” when it comes to needing attention. Most of the social tantrums I see boil down to one key issue: someone in [Insert Company Here] didn’t give the attention that the customer felt they deserved. If we listen to our customers, empathize with their unique situations, and provide solutions that benefit BOTH of us most of the time they will turn into evangelists even when a situation doesn’t turn out exactly how they wanted it to.  Here’s an example:  I pay a good $30 extra for my groceries every week. Here in Florida we have a grocery store chain called Publix which is a little higher-end than the other choices. Normally, I’d go for the cheaper place, but an experience at Publix a few years ago keeps me loyal: I bought a bag of grapes that, when I took them out of the bag to use the next day, were mostly rotten already. Upset that I now had to make another trip to the store and had wasted $6.00 I went on the company’s website and sent a complaint email. A few hours later I got a phone call from the store manager at that Publix apologizing for the problem, offering to replace my grapes, and give me a gift card as an apology. When I went in later to pick up the grapes he met me at the service desk, talked to me for five minutes or so, and apologized again.

Superior service makes a difference!  So stop, contact the individual who’s making noise if you can, and give them your attention. You’re likely to create a loyal raving fan for your efforts.

Renia Carsillo is the founder of C2B Development where she helps people make more money in less time by learning how to take referral marketing strategies online. She is the author of One Man, One Show: 21 Weeks to Profitable Self-Employment, a mom, a recovering-know-it-all, and a football fanatic. 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. tiffaniekellog permalink
    July 7, 2011 12:40 pm

    I wish more customers WOULD complain and let us know what we can do to help them fix the problem. As adults, we sometimes forget to ask for the attention, and instead complain to others about the issue!

  2. July 7, 2011 5:40 pm

    Wow, This was a Fantastic one. We get so caught up in our busy lives that we forget we MUST respond (Give them attention) within a short time. Never leaving something unanswered.

    This was a Great reminder of what i need to do with my kids and with my “Social Media Kids” as well. Create Raving Fans. Hmmm, where have i heard that before. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your Words of Wisdom.

    Ed Wilson

Trackbacks

  1. 10 Things being a Mommy taught me about handling social tantrums: Lesson Four « Renia Grows

Leave a comment